Search icon
Regional Writing Centre Logo

Awards Ceremony 2020

Due to the outbreak of COVID-19 and the subsequent closure of the university, we decided to host this year's winners' ceremony virtually on Microsoft Teams. President Des Fitzgerald, Vice President for Academic Affairs and Student Engagement Kerstin Mey, members of the Centre for Transformative Learning team and our Writing Centre staff joined this years' winning essay writers, their parents and some of their teachers and principals for a brief series of congratulatory speeches and were officially awarded signed electronic copies of their certificates. While it was unfortunate that we could not all meet up in our traditional on-campus face-to-face ceremony, the virtual event turned out well and was enjoyed by all. Thank you to all of those who attended.  A recording of the ceremony is available here!


Paul Egan (Runner-up, Mean Scoil Nua an Leith Triuigh, Tralee, Co. Kerry) with his English teacher and his certificate. 


Niamh Coyle (Runner up, Royal and Prior Comprehensive School, Raphoe, Co. Donegal) with her parents and her certificate