Search icon

Research Support Awards for PhD Students

Research Support Awards for PhD Students

Congratulations to our PhD students who were awarded research funding support from the Faculty of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences. The successful PhD students and their supervisors are listed below:


PhD Student


Karen O’Brien        

Professor Ray Friel

Mary Tumelty           

Dr Eimear Spain and Jennifer Schweppe

Stephen Strauss-Walsh       

Professor Shane Kilcommins and Dr John Lombard

John Walsh               

Dr Ger Coffey


Dr Ger Coffey, Director of Postgraduate Studies in the School of Law, said:


“The School of Law is pleased to congratulate our PhD student recipients of these very competitive AHSS research support awards. PhD students are faced with many challenges in balancing all the demands of their scholarly pursuits and these awards will go a long way in helping students attend conferences and various other academic endeavours.”


In addition to gaining funding for their scholarly endeavours our PhD students also grow their experience in developing competitive research funding proposals.